Dial 911 in an emergency

Patrol Division

The Patrol Division is comprised of three shifts and is commanded by Captain Louis Gonzalez.  Each patrol shift is overseen by a lieutenant and three sergeants.  The majority of the department's 78 sworn officers are assigned to the Patrol Division, making it the largest in the department.  The current number of officers assigned to patrol is 47. 
Patrol officers work on a rotating schedule consisting of 5 days on/2 days off followed by 5 days on/3 days off.  The Patrol Division provides service to the city 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  Torrington's population is approximately 40,000 people and is divided up into eight patrol sectors. The city has 561 streets and is 44 square miles in size.

The Day Shift is commanded by Lieutenant John Joseph

The Evening Shift is commanded by Lieutenant Vincenzo Calabrese

The Midnight Shift is commanded by Lieutenant Brett Johnson




Specialized Units

Police Canine Unit

Accident Investigation Team

Special Response Team

School Resource Officer

D.A.R.E. Program

Click on any link for more infromation.