Our History

Torrington PD Badge LogoThe TPD Patch

This shoulder patch is worn on each officers uniform. The patch was designed in 2017. The patch depicts the American flag in the background, with a representation of John Brown's birth house in the foreground.

Historical Facts

  • In 1739, Ebenezer Lyman Jr. was appointed the First Constable of Torrington.
  • On July 3, 1888, the Board of Warden and Burgesses established the Torrington Police Department and named Leslie Baldwin as Police Chief for the Borough. Also hired on this date were five men who were named policemen for one year. They were Frank Briggs, badge #1, Ernest T. Huke, badge #2, Charles D. Shoemaker, badge #3, Joseph W. Payne, badge #4, and Charles W. Stickles, badge #5.
  • Baldwin was being paid $.25 per hour for his services when he worked.
  • In 1893, James J. Saunders was appointed Chief and records show that he worked from 10:00 AM till 12:00 midnight seven days per week. His pay was $2.00 per day. This is the first sign of structured hours and he had to buy his own uniform.

Unknown Torrington Police Officers on the Street
Unknown Torrington Police Officers on the Street
(click to view larger)

Unknown Torrington Police Officers in Department Photo
Unknown Torrington Police Officers in
Department Photo
(click to view larger)

  • In 1898, the first Police Station and jail cells were built. A Meriden man, Arthur Wallace, was the first man to be confined in the jail.
  • In 1923, Chief William Nevin unlocked the Police Department doors for the last time and then threw away the key. Saying that no longer would there be a need for a key, because the Department would now be providing service 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
  • In 1923, Miss Harriet Parker became the City's first Police Woman Police Employee.

Capt. Bourquin and Sgt. Bengamin Booth - 1935
1935 - Capt. Bourquin and Sgt. Benjamin Booth
(click to view larger)

Chief D'Aquilla, Jack Lucas, Roland Tofield, Gerry Maully, Red Columbia - 1964
1964 - Chief D'Aquilla, Jack Lucas, Roland Tofield, Gerry Maully, Red Columbia
(click to view larger)

  • In 1980, Corinne Nebiolo was hired as the first female police officer.
  • In 1990, the Police Department was moved from City Hall to its present location at 576 Main Street.
  • In April 2009 the department established four Core Principles to follow: 1) Integrity 2) Professionalism 3) Service to the Community 4) Courage
  • In April 2009 the department developed its first motto: Quality Service to the Community Through Continuous Improvement.

Department Statistics 

  • The 2018 authorized strength of the police department is 81 sworn officers, 3 Civilian Clerks, 1 Secretary, 1 full time Animal Control Officer, 1 Part Time Animal Control Officer, 2 Civilian Traffic Maintenance personnel and 1 part time Parking Enforcement Officer.
  • In 2018 the department handled 55,554 calls for service.
  • In 2018 department members made 2345 arrests, conducted 8303 motor vehicle stops and investigated 647 motor vehicle accidents.
  • The 2018/2019 fiscal budget for the police department is $8.76 million dollars
  • Torrington is the largest city in Litchfield County Connecticut and is the center for all Social Services and State Government entities. Torrington also has one of only two full service hospitals in the county. The Charlotte Hungerford Hospital serves the Torrington area and the surrounding towns.
  • Torrington was designated by the United States Census Bureau as the largest micropolitan area in the United States, serving a surrounding area population of 189,000 people.